St. James Episcopal Church
Wilmington, North Carolina
Background:
St. James Parish was established in 1729. The present Gothic Revival sanctuary, designed in 1840 by architect Thomas U. Walter—later known for his U.S. Capitol expansion—anchors a complex that has grown over nearly two centuries. Additions to the complex include the Bridgers Memorial Building (1892) and cloister (1912), Parish House and Great Hall by Hobart Upjohn (1923-1924), Milton Hall by Charles H. Boney (1955-1956), and Perry Hall (2000). In 1955, the Parish acquired the Donald MacRae House (1901), designed by Henry Bacon, architect of the Lincoln Memorial. Renovated in 2011, it now serves as Parish offices. Today, St. James Parish occupies an entire city block in Wilmington, North Carolina.
Project Summary:
JKOA is providing a condition assessment of the St. James Parish complex as the first step towards a full long-range master plan. The report will document the developmental history, physical changes, and current conditions of all buildings, its purpose to serve as a planning tool to prioritize repairs, rehabilitation, and restoration in staged phases and a comprehensive framework for the future use of this important ensemble of historic buildings. JKOA is conducting the project in concert? with a capital campaign led by Capital Development Services.